Having played an important part in the establishment of the Trust in 1993, Mr Clarke said he felt it a privilege to now have the opportunity to Chair it.

"The Trust has achieved a lot in the last few years. We launched a new identity to bring together the Trust, and its economic development agency Activate Tairawhiti, introduced He Rangitapu He Tohu Ora - the Tairāwhiti Wellbeing Framework, and more recently Ta aka rautaki ki te tau 2026 - our strategic plan for the next five years".

"We are now implementing our strategy and framework with a range of programmes and initiatives. My focus will be to ensure this continues, working with the community and other regional leaders to ensure we are enabling the best possible outcomes for Tairāwhiti."

"Trustees play a key role in ensuring there is a balance between what we fund for our communities now and capital preservation so future generations can also benefit from the Trust Fund in years to come", said Mr Clarke

At the same meeting, Lyall Evans was appointed Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee, and Dr Jill Chrisp appointed Chair of the People and Culture Committee. New trustees Dr Warren Williams and Wi Pere Mita were also formally welcomed.